About Me

Susanna Pinkus 2020

I grew up in Harrow with my parents, sister and a menagerie of rescued animals.

After attending local schools, I went on to take my first degree in English Literature and Education at Homerton College, Cambridge. At this time, I also qualified as a teacher and went on to spend several happy years teaching primary aged children. Subsequently, inspired by my experiences as a teacher, I returned to Cambridge to complete a master’s degree and then doctorate in Education at Clare College, Cambridge. The focus of my doctoral work was on developing understandings of parent-professional partnerships in the context of having a child with additional needs.

Upon completion of my academic studies, with a passion to apply and share what I had learnt, I returned to work in schools where I took on a series of inclusion-focused leadership roles. During this period, I continued to undertake academic supervision of post-graduate students at the Faculty of Education, Cambridge. I also qualified as an advanced skills teacher in special educational needs and disabilities (SEND), providing specialist outreach support to schools. My first book, ‘How to Create A Parent Friendly School’, was published in 2008.

As a practitioner in school, and again through my academic research, I observed that parents often found navigating their way through the education system, and ensuring that their child’s needs were met, to be difficult. In 2015, I therefore started providing specialist consultancy for parents who were concerned about their children’s educational development and wanted advice about how to best support their child’s needs. In 2020, with a growing client-base, I founded Speros Consulting Limited.  

Alongside, I have continued to work in schools. Presently, I work at one of the world’s leading schools as the Head of Learning Skills and SENDCo (Special Educational Needs and Disability Co-ordinator).

I regularly continue to write in the media, consciously using my platform to inform and enable a better understanding of how to meet children’s needs.

Outside of work, I most enjoy relaxing with my own family, my two boys who are growing fast, and our recent addition, Woody, who often accompanies me to work in his capacity as a trainee therapy dog.

Me And Wright

Leave a Reply

Scroll UpScroll Up